Log in

2018 Award Winners

And the 2018 OCSS Award Winners Are…


Emerging Social Studies Leader Award

  • Rebecca Fork
    • Port Clinton City Schools, Port Clinton High School
    • Nominator: Gary Steyer & Todd Buck

Outstanding Elementary Social Studies Teacher Award

  • Joan Connor
    • Southwest Local Schools, Etna Elementary
    • Nominator: Derek Hinkle

Outstanding Secondary Social Studies Teacher Award

  • Caitlin Rudisell
    • Three Rivers Local School District, Taylor High School
    • Nominator: Dan Perlman

2018 Social Studies Leader Award

  • Jared Reitz
    • Retired Director of Programs, Ohio Center for Law-Related Education
    • Nominator: Nancy Patterson


Mr. Jared Reitz has been at the center of statewide and national efforts to enhance civics and social studies education in classrooms and communities. Jared served for 30 years as a social studies teacher in Piqua City Schools. For over 15 years, Reitz served as director of programs for the Ohio Center for Law-Related Education. During that time, Reitz helped develop the Middle School Mock Trial program and expand the We the People program to elementary and middle school students. Jared continues his efforts to promote high quality social studies by serving on the Conference Committee, and by serving as Historian, on the Executive Board of the Ohio Council for the Social Studies.


Each year OCSS bestows awards to exceptional social studies teachers and leaders. These awards are presented at the organization’s annual conference. For more information, including how to nominate a colleague, go to /Emerging-Social-Studies-Leader-Award.

Follow our activities

© Wild Apricot teachers association. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software